Making Jam without sugar

Published July 6, 2012 by freedominhim

This is like the simplest thing… so, I didn’t think I would post it, cuz everyone already KNOWS about this right? Until I met my friend. She had never thought of making Jam without using some kind of sugar. She and her son are recently starting SCD to help with his Autism and she just assumed they would have to do without.

Not anymore.

Jam

6 c. fresh or frozen fruit (Strawberry, blueberry, and peach are our favorites)
1/2c. honey – you can use more if your family has more of a sweet tooth
1 teas cinnamon – optional
2 envelopes Knox gelatin – use an extra envelope if you are looking for a really thick jam.

Combine ingredients in a saucepan. Simmer over low heat until fruit is mushed. Remove from heat and whisk in the gelatin. Sometimes I use my blender for this part for a smoother jam. Othertimes, I like the bigger chunks of fruit and just whisk the gelatin in (like if I am going to use it on pancakes). Cool your jam then transfer to smaller containers. I place some in the fridge for daily use with yogurt or home SCD ice cream and freeze the rest for future use.

Now I am hungry for some blueberry crepes. hmmmm

2 comments on “Making Jam without sugar

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 132 other followers

